New Zealander of the Year Awards:

The New Zealander of the Year Awards were introduced in 2010. 
There are six categories of the Award:
Young New Zealander of the year
Senior New Zealander of the year
Local Hero of the year
Environmental Hero of the year
Innovator of the year
Community of the year
and the overall New Zealander of the year award.

Local Hero Award:
The New Zealand Local Hero of the Year Award aims to identify and reward everyday people doing extraordinary things in their local communities. The award recognises the enormous contribution, sacrifice and commitment of Kiwis who selflessly work to make their local communities a better place.

Congratulations to the following ex-spotswoodians who have been recipients of the Taranaki Local Hero Award.


Nigel Cash  (1989-1990)

Darren James  (1981-1983)

Terry Parkes  (1968-1969)


Lindsay Thomson  (1975-1979)

Tim Coleman  (1982-1986)


Phil Gayton