A-4 NEW ZEALAND SECONDARY SCHOOLS SENIOR CHAMPIONSHIPS

The NZSS Senior championships were first played in 1969, using an open entry system. In 1974, a Zone system (North, Central, South) was used in order to qualify for the national championships. Taranaki is in the Central Zone.

In 1979, Taranaki teams played in a regional series (Taranaki, Wanganui, Hawkes Bay, Manawatu) with the top three Regional teams going on to the Central Zone series with the top three Central Zone teams going on to the NZSS national finals.

From 1986, the top team from the Taranaki region automatically qualified for the National Championships.

From 1994, the top team qualified for the Division One Championship and the second placed Taranaki team for the Division Two Championship.

From 2003, the NZSS was an open entry tournament with seedings based on the regional qualifying series placings.

Top teams were promoted and bottom teams relegated for the following year's event.

Division results are recorded below with national rankings in brackets.

DNQ= Did not qualify for the New Zealand Secondary Schools senior Championships.

YEAR	VENUE	SE	NIOR BOYS	SENIOR GIRLS
1972	Wellington			Div 2 1st
1973	Auckland			Div 1 4th
1974				DNQ
1975				
1976	Wellington			Unknown
1977			DNQ	DNQ
1980	Porirua			Div 1 8th
1981	Dunedin			Div 1 10th
1985	Rotorua			Div 1 9th
1986	Wanganui	Div 1	15th	Div 1 8th
1987	Christchurch	Div 1	15th	DNQ
1988				
1989	Nelson	Div 1	16th	DNQ
1990				
1991				
1992	Palmerston North	Div 1	9th	Div 1 11th
1993	Christchurch	Div 1	11th	Div 1 7th
1994	Tauranga	Div 2	12th	Div 1 10th
1995	Nelson	Div 2	6th	Div 2 11th
1996	Christchurch	Div 2	2nd & 8th	Div 1 15th
1997	Auckland	Div 2	1st	DNQ
1998	Tauranga	Div 1	11th	Div 2 6th
1999	Nelson	Div 1	6th	Div 1 3rd=
				Div 2 26th
2000	Christchurch	Div 1	11th	Div 1 7th
2001	Tauranga	Div 1	8th	Div 1 4th

2002	Palmerston North	Div 1	15th		Div 1	20th
2003	Christchurch	Div 3	3rd	(33rd)	Div 6	2nd (52nd)
2004	Tauranga	Div 2	15th=	(31st=)	Div 3	11th= (43rd=)
2005	Palmerston North	Div 3	5th=	(37th=)	Div 2	16th (32nd)
2006	Christchurch	Div 2	7th	(23rd)	Did not enter	
2007	Tauranga	Div 1	5th=		Div 3	9th (41st)
2008	Palmerston North	Div 1	5th=		Div 2	16th (32nd)
2009	Palmerston North	Div 3	14th	(46th)	Div 3	16th (48th)
2010	Palmerston North	Div 2	16th	(32nd)	Div 4	6th (54th)
2011	Palmerston North	Div 4	8th	(56th)	Div 2	12th (28th) &
					Div 6	4th (84th)
2012	Palmerston North	Div 4	4th	(52nd)	Div 2	16th (32nd)
2013	Palmerston North	Div 4	4th	(52nd)	Div 4	1st (49th)
2014	Palmerston North	Div 3	2nd	(35th)	Div 4	13th (61st)
2015	Palmerston North	Div 3	8th	(40th)	Div 4	13th (61st)
2016	Palmerston North	Div 1	15th		Div 4	2nd (50th) &
					Div 5	16th (80th)
2017	Palmerston North	Div 2	1st	(17th)	Div 6	2nd (82nd)
2018	Palmerston North	Div 2	1st	(17th)	Div 4	14th (62nd)
2019	Palmerston North	Div 1	10th		Div 6	7th (88th)